Theatre



StreetSigns, UNC Chapel Hill Dept. of Communications Studies: Closer Than They Appear


Related Articles

( Thu., Sep. 14, 2017 - Sun., Oct. 1, 2017 )

Swain Hall, 101 E Cameron Avenue, Chapel Hill, NC 27514

Program

Closer Than They Appear is a multi-media theatre piece that tells the charged story of an encounter between an American soldier and a young Iraqi blogger through the lens of the technologies that connect them. Inspired by the convergence of video game environments, virtual technology, and military research, this is the world’s first theatrical production licensed to incorporate animated landscapes from “Virtual Iraq/Bravemind,” a virtual-reality program based on war video-games and used in veterans’ PTSD therapy.

Notes

Online tickets available HERE.

September 14 & 15 - Pay What You Can Preview Performance (all seats $5)

September 16 - Opening Night with reception to follow (all seats $45)

Related Events:

  • September 15, 5:00-6:00 PM, Morehead Planetarium - Panel on Virtual Reality in Education with Arno Hartholt, USC Institute for Creative Technologies;  Steven King, UNC-CH School of Media and Journalism; Mike Cuales, NC State DELTA; Jason Cooper, Horizon Productions; Libby Evans, Duke Digital Initiative. Moderator: Jay Heinz, Director of Creative and Experiential Design Morehead Planetarum and Science Center
  • September 15, 9:35-10:20 PM - Post-Preview Performance Discussion with Arno Hartholt, Joseph Megel, Christine Evans, Jared Mezzocchi
  • September 24, 4:30-5:30 PM - Post-Matinee Panel Discussion with Dalshad Al-Gaaf, UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health; Sonny Kelly, Veteran and spouse of active duty service member and PhD candidate in Communication; Wayne Lee, UNC-CH Department of History, Chair of Curriculum in Peace, War, and Defense; Hilary Lithgow, UNC-CH Department of English; and others TBA.

 

Cost

$20-$5

More information

(919) 929-2787; streetsigns@gmail.com
http://www.piedmontperformancefactory.org

Series

Process Series

Dates

  • Thursday, September 14, 2017 at 8:00 PM
  • Friday, September 15, 2017 at 8:00 PM
  • Saturday, September 16, 2017 at 8:00 PM
  • Sunday, September 17, 2017 at 3:00 PM
  • Wednesday, September 20, 2017 at 8:00 PM
  • Thursday, September 21, 2017 at 8:00 PM
  • Friday, September 22, 2017 at 8:00 PM
  • Saturday, September 23, 2017 at 8:00 PM
  • Sunday, September 24, 2017 at 3:00 PM
  • Wednesday, September 27, 2017 at 8:00 PM
  • Thursday, September 28, 2017 at 8:00 PM
  • Friday, September 29, 2017 at 8:00 PM
  • Saturday, September 30, 2017 at 8:00 PM
  • Sunday, October 1, 2017 at 3:00 PM